top of page
  • ilveaxoox

Back to Basics

Rev. Gannon giving York Student Giselle Zavala,

his blessing. Photo by Ilvea Lezama

Lent season is one of the most sacred times for worshipers. Lent began with Ash Wednesday on February 22; worshipers got ashes in form of the holy cross on their foreheads signifying their sins. The next 40-days observance period worshipers will fast, abstain, almsgiving and self-reflection.


“I would tell people give themselves a chance to walk with God whatever that means for them," Said Rev. Josephjude Gannon. "We have to make time, we live in a world where everything is top priority but not everything can be

top priority sometimes you have to do hierarchy of what is most important. This is what lent does, is about priorities.”


York College invited Gannon back to bless students, faculty, and staff. Mondell Sealy of career services said “"I was very pleased to see the sign that this was taking place here today, I was ready to go get my ashes over at Parson Blvd. I also asked myself what I am giving up for lent. I still haven’t figured it out.”


Many students and staff members found it very convenient for the service to be offered in such close proximity. “I find it to be very convenient for this to be happening here, I have some colleagues who do try to take care of this before they come in, but we don't all get that opportunity," said Financial Aid Director Beverly Brown. "It is nice that the college is offering this again. We used to do this all the time, it is convenient and very much appreciated.”


Students took Tuesday club-hours to engaged with a tradition most have been doing since childhood, “This is my first time doing it here in school, I have done it my whole life as a Catholic," said Giselle Zavala, Social work major. "I was thinking of giving up social media for the next 40 days but it's difficult. I might just give up on eating chicken."

Gannon said the day started off with a mass at 8:30 a.m. when people came in and got their day started. “It's a busy day for us, today is about being intentional and using time correctly. I am going to the FDNY and the NYPD precincts 103 and 105. All the other times we call them, and they come to us when there is an emergency. This is the day when they are busy and might not be able get it done and it is a valid reason. I stop in for 15-20 minutes, a lot of priests do, this is the day when we go to them.”


Gannon said he hopes people take time for themselves, to read the word of God and love their neighbors.


Comments


bottom of page